Next Chat Event





..

Two Small Asteroids Safely Pass Earth This Week

Go down

Two Small Asteroids Safely Pass Earth This Week

Post by Dragon on Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:40 pm

Two small asteroids recently discovered by astronomers at the NASA-funded Catalina Sky Survey (CSS) near Tucson, Arizona, are safely passing by Earth within one lunar distance this week.


The first of this week’s close-approaching asteroids -- discovered by CSS on Feb. 4 -- is designated asteroid 2018 CC. Its close approach to Earth came Tuesday (Feb. 6) at 12:10 p.m. PST (3:10 p.m. EST) at a distance of about 114,000 miles (184,000 kilometers). The asteroid is estimated to be between 50 and 100 feet (15 and 30 meters) in size.


Of potentially greater interest is asteroid 2018 CB, which will also pass closely by Earth on Friday, Feb. 9, at around 2:30 p.m. PST (5:30 p.m. EST), at a distance of about 39,000 miles (64,000 kilometers), which is less than one-fifth the distance of Earth to the Moon). The asteroid, which is estimated to be between 50 and 130 feet (15 and 40 meters) in size, was also discovered by CSS on Feb. 4.

Source

 



avatar
Dragon
Senior Administrator
Senior Administrator

Posts : 2254
Points : 12790
Join date : 2018-01-18

Back to top Go down

Re: Two Small Asteroids Safely Pass Earth This Week

Post by Dragon on Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:40 pm


Credits: NASA/JPL-Caltech

2018 CB will pass closely by Earth on Friday, Feb. 9, at a distance of about 39,000 miles.

Source / Image Courtesy

avatar
Dragon
Senior Administrator
Senior Administrator

Posts : 2254
Points : 12790
Join date : 2018-01-18

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum